One Week to Leadership!

One week from now, leadership camp begins. And I am terrified of what to do. I know the basics (introduce everyone, talk about expectations). But I don’t know what activities we should do, what things we should discuss, or anything like that. I do know they will ask lots of questions, because I’m new and things will be different than they were previously. I also know they will be a little upset, since we had to change shows last minute (to them). I don’t know what to tell them when they ask about their old teacher. I don’t know what to tell them when they ask where their old techs went.

I have a great mentor teacher, from student teaching, who is helping me with a lot of these worries. She gave me a list of things to talk to them about, and how to talk about them. I also didn’t think about what was acceptable punishments for a section leader to give when they need to.

One week to go, and I’m beyond nervous because I’ve never done this before. So I’ll be taking notes every day on what works and what doesn’t, so that next year will be even better.

My tip for other newbies? Write down EVERYTHING. What works. What doesn’t. Why? Why not? How can you change it? How did parents/students/teachers react?

Getting to the last few moments of summer!!

Leave a Reply

